Independent buying guides for apartment pet owners

2 Hounds Design Freedom No-Pull Dog Harness Training Package with Leash Review (2026)

Updated September 21, 2026 · Research-based review

Our verdict

A training-focused harness and leash set built around a patented control loop that discourages pulling, made from tow-strength webbing with stainless steel hardware. It suits owners working on loose-leash walking, though the multiple straps mean checking the fit chart carefully before buying.

2 Hounds Design Freedom No-Pull Dog Harness Training Package with Leash

The 2 Hounds Design Freedom no-pull harness training package, sold with a matching leash for a complete walking setup.

Price range: See on Amazon

What we liked

  • + Matching leash is included, so the setup is ready to use right away
  • + Freedom design offers both front and back attachment points
  • + Training package suits owners working on loose-leash walking

Trade-offs

  • - Check the fit chart carefully since sizing runs by chest girth
  • - Several straps take a few tries to adjust correctly at first

Who It Fits

This package is aimed at owners who are actively working on loose-leash walking rather than those who just want a basic harness for a dog that already walks well. The training leash included in the package is designed specifically to be used with the harness's dual connection points, so it is most useful to someone following a structured no-pull training approach rather than a casual walker. Because 2 Hounds Design sells this harness across a wide size range, it can fit small dogs as well as very large breeds, but that also means buyers need to actually check their dog's chest and neck measurements rather than guessing from weight alone. It is a good fit for anyone who wants one purchase that includes both the harness and a leash designed to work together.

Materials and Hardware

According to 2 Hounds Design, the harness webbing is rated at 3800 pounds of test strength, the same category of material used in towing applications, which is a notably strong choice for a dog harness. The hardware is stainless steel, chosen specifically to resist rust and corrosion over time compared with cheaper coated metal fittings. A Swiss velvet lining sits at the chest strap, aimed at reducing rubbing and chafing behind the front legs during long or frequent walks. This combination of heavy-duty webbing with a padded contact point is meant to balance real strength against everyday comfort, which matters for dogs who pull hard enough to test lighter harness materials.

How the No-Pull Design Works

The Freedom harness uses a patented control loop on the back that tightens gently around the dog's chest when there is pulling pressure on the leash, which is intended to discourage pulling without choking or restricting the dog the way some head halters can. A separate connection ring sits on the front of the harness for additional control during training, and the included training leash is built to attach to both points at once, spreading pressure across the dog rather than concentrating it on a single ring. When used at both connection points together, the leash measures about 3 feet including its floating handle, and about 4 feet when attached to just one point, giving trainers some flexibility in how much slack they allow.

Sizing and Fit

The Freedom harness is offered in a wide range, from extra small sizes fit for roughly 15 to 25 pound dogs up to configurations built for dogs over 125 pounds, and it comes in two strap widths, five eighths of an inch for smaller dogs and a full inch for larger ones. This listing does not specify an exact size or color in its title, which means buyers need to consult 2 Hounds Design's chest and neck measurement chart rather than relying on the dog's weight class alone, since two dogs of similar weight can have very different chest girths. Because the width changes along with the size range, picking the wrong size is not just a fit issue but can affect how the control loop tightens against the dog's chest.

Where It Falls Short

The main friction point for new buyers is that this listing does not state a specific size or color, so anyone ordering needs to actively cross-reference their dog's measurements against the brand's own sizing chart rather than trusting the product title. With multiple straps, two connection rings, and a separate control loop, first-time users may need a few tries to get the fit adjusted correctly, especially compared with a simple step-in harness that has far fewer adjustment points. This is a harness built for a specific training method rather than a plug-and-walk product, so owners who just want the simplest possible daily harness without any learning curve may find it more involved than necessary.

Frequently asked questions

What size range does this harness cover?

2 Hounds Design offers the Freedom harness from extra small sizes for roughly 15 to 25 pound dogs up to sizes built for dogs over 125 pounds, in two strap widths.

How is the training leash different from a normal leash?

It is designed to connect to both the harness's front and back rings at once, spreading pulling pressure across two points, and it includes a floating handle for flexible grip positions.

Does the harness restrict breathing like a head halter?

No, the control loop tightens gently around the chest rather than the neck or muzzle, which is intended to discourage pulling without choking the dog.

Do I need to measure my dog before ordering?

Yes, since this listing does not list an exact size, checking the brand's chest and neck measurement chart is the reliable way to pick the correct size and strap width.

Prices change often, so check the current price and availability on Amazon.

Check price on Amazon

Apartment Pet Picks may earn a commission from the link above.